I’m a Lonely Space Man – Asobi ni Ikuyo! 09

I don’t know about everyone else, but I love the idealism of the space age and the kind of fiction it inspired. This show is a season or so back, and to not have watched this episode was probably my greatest mistake of 2010. Perhaps posts have already been made of this series, or more likely there probably have been one that says what I’m saying now. I’m just late to the party and I’m very sorry about that.

Asobi ni Ikuyo!’s 9th episode was a great tribute to that spirit for space exploration that has long disappeared. The show overall is a great tribute to many things sci-fi, and isn’t shy about showing all the different kinds that has come and gone from the lens of a Japanese enthusiast (probably the guy who penned the thing). It freely embraces everything from the serious to the campy, low brow and high, adult and childish, etc.

It’s not particularly meaningful a show nor does it hold much of an explicit message, but rather it is just a celebration of the sci-fi genre overall, in all the different ways it has come to be enjoyed.

I’m quite moved, at the least, and I certainly never expected that looking at the show at a glance. And it’ll go on as one of the most underappreciated anime of 2010, though I suppose it was fated to happen. The sort of sci-fi repertoire you’d need, on an international level (or at least one comprising of American and Japanese works) would have to be pretty full and indiscriminate. Ultimately, it’s just so niche that it can only go so far.

But still, I’m sure at the least, if you’ve ever fantasized about exploring space in a fantastic, idealistic, pioneering way, then you will enjoy this sentimental episode, even if one must reconcile some of the things done to make it marketable.

About ToastCrust

Generic procrastinator and Japanese Media hobbyist.
This entry was posted in 2010 Summer, Anime, Watched serial and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m a Lonely Space Man – Asobi ni Ikuyo! 09

  1. FangsExtended says:

    It is a lovey song. I wish it were on itunes, so i could have it in my ipod. V.V

    • ToastCrust says:

      … Well, a single version (with only the android singing) was released in the Asobi ni Ikuyo! sound track, though I will not endorse any particular way of acquiring it.

Got a thought? Say it!

